Becoming Undignified

Well, here it is. THE blog.

I have been putting this off for some time. Sticking to the old email seems less committal. Starting a blog requires many decisions (I hate making decisions), time (I tend to waste that), investment (do I have anything to offer in the first place) and good grammar (no comments needed). Plus, something about starting a blog seems so “set in stone”. I don’t even really like blogs. I have never been one to read the blogs of others. I just don’t care that much about what people are cooking or crafting or giving opinions about. Facebook posts get on my nerves for Pete’s sake. (Was I supposed to capitalize Pete? What about sake? Grammar, ugh!). I can honestly say that I regularly follow one blog. It is written by missionaries in Kenya and the blog updates are sent to me via email, so I read it. And I ENJOY it. So, maybe you will too. If not, don’t worry, I get it.

So, why the title, “Becoming Undignified”? I was trying to decide on a title while Lilly was in the room with me. I asked her what she thought I should call the blog and she quickly rattled off several titles with no problem: “Pony Power Tastic”, “Tinkle Fairy” or “Sparkle Little Tiny Star”.  Clearly, I did not choose any of those. She may have a blog one day and want to have those titles back. So, I asked God what the title should be. He reminded me about what I read this morning. I have been rereading the book of  II Samuel and today I read in Chapter 6 where David and all Israel were bringing up the ark of the Lord and David was wearing a linen ephod and dancing with all his might. Michal, daughter of Saul, called him out for how vulgar he looked in full view of bystanders. David said to her, “..I will celebrate before the Lord. I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes.”

David looked crazy! She thought he was crazy. He basically said to her, “You think this is crazy? You ain’t seen nothin yet!” That is where we are with missions. Some people are dancing with us and some people think we have lost our minds. (Sometimes we do too.) But, just like David, we will continue to do what God is moving us to do and crazy or not here we come!

There are not many new updates to give you in the way of our July trip. But, boy is God doing a work among His people. I wanted to use this first blog to share some of those cool things:

*First of all, my friends at The Sharon School raised over $1300 for our family by selling  t-shirts. How I love to see those shirts on everyone. It is a silent encouragement every time. Not only that, but some church members have also bought them. Our family will be wearing those shirts to the airport this summer.

imageimage

*A sweet lady that teaches with my sister gave us a HUGE donation of craft supplies to bring with us to Uganda this summer. She is retiring and instead of selling her stuff, she donated it to us. I can’t wait to see the looks on the faces of those children when they see all of the neat things they get to play with.

*Today (brace yourselves with tissues in hand for this one), two sweet little girls in 2nd grade came up to me smiling and handed me a zip-lock baggie with money in it. There was a note attached to it. I asked, “What is this?” They stood there grinning from ear to ear and said, “We had a business selling bookmarks and cards to raise money for your mission trip.” I could not believe my ears. Since February, these two little girls have been making bookmarks and then selling them at school, just for those kids in Uganda! That is when I decided to start the blog. Today. His work will be done either through us or around us.

image

Here are some ways to pray for us:

– Wisdom on things to bring with us to Uganda

– The hearts of the staff at Lulwanda to be prepared for us this summer

-The hearts of the children at Lulwanda to be prepared for us

-The GICF board to have great wisdom in their decision-making

-Our trip to be fruitful this summer

-For confirmation of His will at Lulwanda

Thank you all again for your prayers and your support!

By the way, we are looking for any unwanted military style duffel-bags to bring with us to Uganda. We can fit lots of stuff in these. If you, or anyone you know has one to give us, please let us know! We have 2 of them and would like to get about 4 more.

6 thoughts on “Becoming Undignified

  1. The Davis family will continue to pray for you. We are so excited about this calling on your lives. The $32.51 was so precious. You were right, I did need a tissue. Cannot wait to get my t-shirt. Love you guys so much!

  2. The blog is super cute and fun! Can’t wait to read all your posts and updates! We love you guys so much! God is truly awesome!

  3. I knew a blog was coming, and I’m very excited about it! There’s already been a shortcut created for it on the home screen 🙂 I’m honored to be able to be aware of how things are progressing.

  4. What an adventure! Looking forward to updates and hear about the trip. What an exciting but nerve wrecking experience. We will think happy thoughts for your family.

  5. The Varner family will be following your adventure and praying for you along the way! SO excited to see what God will show you!!!

Leave a Reply

